Miami Medical Marijuana
Legal residents of Miami who are at least 18 years of age and dealing with a chronic medical condition may now be able to benefit from the use of medical marijuana. Under newly updated Florida laws, qualifying individuals can benefit from the many medicinal uses of cannabis in their treatment plans.
Where Do I Buy Medical Marijuana?
If you are approved by the state, your ID card will arrive in the mail within 30 days and is valid for one year. You can use this card to legally purchase cannabis from any licensed dispensary in the state. Dispensaries in Miami include Curaleaf, Trulieve, and Knox Medical. The professional staff at the dispensary will validate your ID and then ask questions to determine more about your condition. This includes past treatments, current symptoms, and lifestyle concerns that may affect your treatment. The staff will be able to recommend non-smoked types of cannabis such as pills, vapes, and edibles. Smoking marijuana is still illegal under state law.
Under newly updated Florida laws, Miami residents may be able to use medical marijuana to treat their chronic medical condition. Schedule an appointment with a licensed doctor to find out more.
How Do I Qualify for Medical Marijuana?
Qualifying to legally purchase and use medical marijuana in Florida is a relatively simple process. First, you must determine if you have one of the medical conditions that can be successfully treated with marijuana. These include those that cause chronic pain or nausea and any terminal condition. Common qualifying conditions include glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder, and Crohn’s disease. If you believe you qualify, you need to schedule an in-person meeting with a licensed doctor who will go over your health records and history to determine more details. The doctor will see what symptoms you suffer from, how it affects your life, and what methods of treatment you have tried in the past. If the doctor deems you a good candidate for treatment with cannabis, a written recommendation will be issued. You need this recommendation to apply for a state-issued ID card with the Florida Department of Health.