Buying Medical Marijuana in Florida
With your ID card, you can visit any licensed dispensary including the nearby Curaleaf in Fort Lauderdale and Compassionate Care Clinics of Jacksonville in Pompano Beach. After finding out more about your medical condition, the professional dispensary staff will be able to recommend non-smoked version of marijuana such as pills, vapes, oils, and sprays. Smoking marijuana is still illegal under Florida state law. You may make your purchases on-site and begin your treatment immediately.
If you believe you would benefit from including medical marijuana in your treatment plan, schedule an appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor today to find out more.
Do I Qualify for Medical Marijuana?
As one of 30 U.S. states that has legalized medical marijuana, Florida makes it straightforward to qualify for its legal purchase and use. First, you must be at least 18 years of age and a legal resident of the state. Second, you must have one of the qualifying conditions that include HIV/AIDS, ALS, Parkinson’s, epilepsy, and glaucoma. Your condition must be verified in person with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. At the appointment, he or she will go over your health records to learn more about your condition and your past attempts at treatment. If the doctor believes you qualify, a written recommendation will be issued that must be included with your application for an ID card with the Florida Department of Health. Your card will arrive within 30 days and can be used for one year to purchase marijuana at any licensed dispensary in the state.